Ph.D. in Rhetoric and Composition

Welcome to UTEP’s doctoral program in Rhetoric and Composition.   Before you start learning more about our program, here’s some recent news:

We are delighted to welcome our newest Assistant Professor, Dr. Laura Gonzales, to our program.  Dr. Gonzales comes to us from Michigan State, where she completed her dissertation Sites of Translation: What Multilinguals Can Teach Us about Writing, Rhetoric, and Technology.  Check out her co-authored article in the June 2016 College Composition and Communication on "Coordination and Transfer across the Metagenre of Secondary Research."   

Our featured speaker at our annual Spring Frontera Retorica conference was Dr. Casey Boyle from UT-Austin, who spoke on "informing a Post-Human Rhetoric."  Two doctoral candidates, PJ Vierra and Melanie Salome, also presented at the symposium.  

Another Spring presenter was Dr. Todd Ruecker from the University of New Mexico, whose spoke on "Writing, Access, and Success: Exploring the Pathways of El Paso Students Transitioning from High School to College."

As always, this Spring we offered professional development opportunities.  Dr. Ruecker held a workshop on academic publishing, and the RWS faculty presented a proposal-writing workshop for academic conferences.

We are very pleased to announce our five doctoral graduates this spring and summer:  Drs. Zach Warzecka, Cassandra Dulin, Melanie Salome, Nikki Agee, Lindsay Hamilton, Sara Bartlette Large, Dali Padon, and P.J. Vierra.    

We are looking forward to welcoming 12 new doctoral students this Fall.  

We had a number of students presenting at CCCC in April.  As always, they received full funding for their travel.  

Thank you for taking the time to visit our website and for your interest in studying Rhetoric and Composition at UTEP.  If you have any questions or would like more detailed information about our program, please don’t hesitate to contact the Director of RWS, Dr. Lucía Durá, at The Associate Director of RWS is Dr. Terry Quezada (  You may also contact one of our our Assistant Directors: Lizbett Tinoco ( or Jennifer Falcon ( For a doctoral student perspective on the program see the video below. 

We're Proud of Our
Alumni's Faculty

Anita August
Sacred Heart University
Fairfield, CT

Hector Carbajal
DePaul University
Chicago, IL

Lauren Connolly
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, ID  

Christie Lynn Daniels
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI

Christina Devereaux Ramirez
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Lucia Dura
University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso, TX

Marianna Hendricks
Center for Institutional Evaluation, Research and Planning
El Paso, TX

Yowei Kang
Kainan University
Luchu, Taoyuan County, Taiwan

Marohang Limbu
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI

Scott Lunsford
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA

Brian McNely
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY

Randall Monty
The University of Texas - Pan American
Edinburg, TX

Kay Mooy
Written Design
El Paso, Texas

Todd Reucker
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Robert Tinajero
Tarrant County College
Fort Worth, TX

Phanindra Upadhyaya
Shawnee State University
Portsmouth, OH

Adam Webb
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ

Craig Wynne
Hampton University
Hampton, VA